Just the boys (from 10.2011; rewritten 2014)

Boys at Dexter Grist Mill 2002Just the boys

In late August 2002, after a vacation on Cape Cod, Jessica & I decided that I would take the boys (Sullivan, 12; Julian, 9) in my car, making the drive home to Pennsylvania a two-day adventure.

We made stops along the way: the Submarine base in New London, a ferryboat ride to a remote island, late night pizza and movie at a motel, a busy diner breakfast counter, and a picture of them arm-in-arm in front of the restored Dexter Grist Mill (built in 1622 by our first relative in America, and the first grist mill in America). On the open road, we blasted music with the windows down, laughing and joking, experiencing each moment together. I was rediscovering the natural happiness and in-the-moment life bubbling within my two sons.

After the 2010 premature death of Sullivan, I value family time and cherish each moment even more. I rediscovered the picture of my boys at the mill, smiling back at me, no cares of the day, no worries for tomorrow; the laughter of my young sons again came echoing through my heart.

About gburd1

Writing is who I am, not what I do. I have been cooking for over 30 years with bread being my overall strength. Food has played a part in everything I have done --- but writing has always been my core passion.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Just the boys (from 10.2011; rewritten 2014)

  1. Ria says:

    Sigh and a soft smile.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.