Lonesome cry of a hawk ~ for Sullivan

Today, this morning, I hear the lonesome cry of a hawk in the autumn-draped trees behind our house; each morning, he cries, and I believe it’s for you. I first heard him the day we lost you, Sully.  When we celebrated your life in that beautiful field in Tinicum, a hawk circled above us. When I left that field, I found a hawk’s feather on the ground, so I took it to the rock where I found you.

One month ago, on this morning, you left us. Each morning I cry for you. I miss you, Sully, my beautiful and sensitive son.

About gburd1

Writing is who I am, not what I do. I have been cooking for over 30 years with bread being my overall strength. Food has played a part in everything I have done --- but writing has always been my core passion.
This entry was posted in Sully ~ My heart. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.